UPSC 2018: The Union Public Service Commission was formed on October 1, 1926, a central recruiting board. This board is responsible for recruiting and conducting exams for All India Services, Group A and Group B posts and Central Services. The Commission consists of a Chairman and other members who are appointed by the president of India.The Commission consists of 9 to 11 members including the Chairman.This commission has its headquarters at Dholpur House in New Delhi.

The Commission conducts examinations based on biannual/annual/biennial basis throughout India for appointing various Civil/Defence services/posts. The notifications for these examinations are displayed in the Gazette of India and Employment News/Rozgar Samachar. A notification is also published in major Indian newspapers including regional language newspapers. Copies and details about the notifications are also sent to all Employment Exchanges and Universities, etc.

Every year UPSC conducts exams to recruit for well deserving candidates who get their higher posts in Government Services. The UPSC board requires its candidates by conducting Competetive exams and interview. The UPSC has recently released the dates for IAS examination 2018. The exams are conducted in the month of June 2018. Almost, every year 12 lakh Candidates appear for this exams. Candidates who need to know more about this Civil Service Exams visit this website


 UPSC IAS 2018 Eligibility Criteria

  • For the IAS, IFS & IPS, a candidate must be a citizen of India.
  • For the IRS and other services, a candidate must be one of the following:
    1.) A citizen of India
    2.) A person of Indian origin who has migrated from Pakistan, Myanmar, Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Zaire, Ethiopia, Vietnam, Sri Lanka, Kenya or Uganda with the intention of permanently settling in India

Educational Qualification for UPSC Examination

Qualification for IAS, IFS & IPS from below. All candidates must have a minimum any one of the following educational qualifications:

  • A degree from a Central, State or Deemed University
  • A degree received through correspondence or distance education
  • A degree from an open university

UPSC Examination Age Limit

A candidate must have attained the age of 21 years and must not have attained the age of 32 years on August 1 of the year of examination.

  • General Category age limit is 32 years
  • OBC the upper age limit is 35, and
  •  SC and ST the limit is 37 years.

UPSC Exam Pattern

UPSC conducts IAS or Civil Service Examination in three phases, they are

  • A Preliminary Exam
  • Mains Exam
  • Interview

UPSC IAS Prelims Exam Pattern

The prelims Exam consists of objective questions which are conducted for 400 marks.

General Studies Paper 1- 200 Marks

General Studies Paper 2- 200 Marks

UPSC Prelims Syllabus for Paper I – (200 marks)

The Preliminary Exam Paper I will be held for two hours. These marks are considered for merit rank.

  • Current events of national and international importance.
  • History of India and Indian National Movement.
  • Indian and World Geography-Physical, Social, Economic Geography of India and the World.
  • Indian Polity and Governance – Constitution, Political System, Panchayati Raj, Public Policy, Rights Issues, etc.
  • Economic and Social Development Sustainable Development, Poverty, Inclusion, Demographics, Social Sector initiatives, etc.
  • General issues on Environmental Ecology, Bio-diversity, and Climate Change – that do not require subject specialization.
  • General Science.

UPSC Prelims Syllabus for Paper II – (200 marks)

The Preliminary Exam Paper II will be held for two hours. This marks are not considered for merit rank but need 33% of pass marks.

  • Comprehension.
  • Interpersonal skills including communication skills.
  • Logical reasoning and analytical ability.
  • Decision-making and problem-solving.
  • General mental ability.
  • Basic numeracy (numbers and their relations, orders of magnitude, etc.) (Class X level), Data interpretation (charts, graphs, tables, data sufficiency etc. – Class X level)

UPSC Mains Exam Syllabus

The  UPSC Mains exam is a written exam consist of nine papers, two qualifying papers and seven papers counted for ranking.

     Paper                                       Subject            Marks
     Paper A (One of the Indian languages listed below, to be selected by the candidate (from the languages listed in the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution of India) (Qualifying)            300
     Paper B English (Qualifying)            300
     Paper I Essay            250
     Paper II General Studies I (Indian heritage and culture, history and geography of the world and society)            250
     Paper III General Studies II (Governance, constitution, polity, social justice, and international relations)            250
     Paper IV General Studies III (Technology, economic development, biodiversity, environment, security and disaster management)            250
     Paper V General Studies-IV(ethics, integrity, and aptitude)            250
     Paper VI, VII Two papers on subjects to be selected by the candidate from the list of optional subjects below (250 marks for each paper)            500
     Total (Written Test)           1750

Candidates may choose any one of the optional subjects from among the list of subjects given below.

  • The papers on Indian Languages and English (Paper A and Paper B) will be of Matriculation or equivalent standard and will be of qualifying nature. The marks obtained in these papers will not be counted for ranking.
  • Evaluation of the papers, namely, ‘Essay’, ‘General Studies’ and Optional Subject of all the candidates would be done simultaneously along with evaluation of their qualifying papers on ‘Indian Languages’ and ‘English’ but the papers on ‘Essay’, General Studies and Optional Subject of only such candidates will be taken cognizance of who attain such minimum standard as may be fixed by Commission at their discretion for the qualifying papers on ‘Indian Language’ and ‘English’.
  • The paper A on Indian Language will not, however, be compulsory for candidates hailing from the States of Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, and Sikkim.

The question papers for the examination will be of conventional (essay) type. Each paper will be of three hours duration. The question papers (other than the literature of language papers) will be set in Hindi and English only.

Personality Tests

The personality test will be conducted for 275 marks.

Total – (B) Main Examination – 1750 Marks + (C) Personality Test – 275 Marks = 2025 Marks.

If you have any doubts about the exam pattern refer the official website

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *